Edition: English Asia Pacific Africa Europe | Español Français العربية Pусский | 中文简体 中文繁体
Homepage > World Video

Myanmar president confident to realize ASEAN Community by 2015


08-08-2014 15:49 BJT

Foreign ministers of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations, or ASEAN, are meeting in Myanmar’s capital of Nay Pyi Taw. Myanmar is the rotating chair of ASEAN this year. 

The gathering also brings together foreign ministers from ASEAN’s dialogue partner countries, to discuss political, security and developmental issues in the region.

"This meeting will discuss the issue of realizing the ASEAN Community by 2015. We will also discuss the future relations with dialogue partner countries including China." U Ye Htut, Myanmar Information Minister.

Myanmar President U Thein Sein opened the Foreign Ministers Meeting on Friday. He stressed that the main goal is to realize the ASEAN Community in 2015. U Thein Sein said ASEAN has implemented 80 percent of the targets on the blueprint. He also expressed confidence that the remaining targets can be achieved in the coming 17 months. ASEAN comprises 10 member countries -- Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam. 

Follow us on

  • Please scan the QR Code to follow us on Instagram

  • Please scan the QR Code to follow us on Wechat

We Recommend

  • World Heritage China Part 29
  • Glamorous Indonesia Part 2
  • Along the Coast Part 41
  • Glamorous Indonesia Part 1
  • Dreams and the business reality
  • Philippines' beauty pageant obsession
  • China's love for basketball
  • Box office online
  • Jixi: Land of luminaries II