- CNTV English - CCTV News

Mao Dun Literature Prize announces finalists

08-18-2011 10:40 BJT

Watch Video

Play Video

The Mao Dun Literature Prize, sponsored by the Chinese Writers Association, is given to the country's best realistic novels every four years. It was created in accordance with the will of Mao Dun, a prominent 20th century Chinese writer.

20 finalists have been announced. So, let's find out more about the prize, now in its 8th year.

The 20 finalists include renowned writers Liu Xinglong and Liu Zhenyun's works. Both of the two books are topping the list by winning nods from all 61 members of the jury. And eight of the top ten on the list are written by chairpersons or vice-chairpersons of provincial writers' associations.

It's the fourth round of the nomination appraisals, and the first time that the prize is promoting new rules of judging, which includes publishing the jury member list before the process begins, and real-name voting.

According to Gao Hongbo, the deputy director of the jury, the qualification of the finalists has nothing to do with their social titles. An in-depth and thought-provoking work is the only criterion. He also calls the public to take up a supervisory role in the selection process.

Five or less than five winners will be released on Saturday.



Editor:Liu Fang |Source: CNTV.CN

More Video News

Choose TV Program